Teeny Tiny Garments

So I’m due in April. And I’m shopping and registering and looking for baby clothes. (I know, I know, I’ve heard people give you lots of baby clothes).

Here’s my dilemma: I don’t like MOST of the commercial baby clothes. The onesies, obviously, are ok as long as they are plain and 100% cotton. I don’t think the spring dresses are out yet, so the selection might be a little better if I wait. However, if typical retail baby clothing is like adult clothing, then I may perhaps be disappointed.

My solution: I started looking for patterns to make baby clothes. Even then, there isn’t much available, but I was able to find a few I liked… Simplicity 3854 and Simplicity 2459. I plan to make both dresses and pants for my little one, and I can envision so many possibilities!

The best part is being able to choose the fabric, which I believe can make all the difference. I am already eyeing this spotted owl fabric from Alexander Henry, and I may head to Stitch Lab to get some before it’s gone.

EDIT: January 15, 2010

So far I have purchased the It’s so easy 2425 pattern from Simplicity. I’m going to try out a dress with this pattern with some basic cottons, and then decide on additional fabrics for a more dressy version or spring/summer varities.

2 thoughts on “Teeny Tiny Garments

Add yours

  1. That fabric is some of the sweetest I’ve seen yet! If you haven’t already, you should check out the Oliver + S collection of patterns – they have a darling selection. Sew, Mama, Sew! also has some nice ones that look versatile without being run-of-the-mill.

  2. I’m still in love with the fabric, but I checked out the patterns in the store and I am not totally convinced I like them up close. I’m going to keep searching for patterns.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

